Kent Coastal Network logo

Kent County Council Image: Kent County Council

Category: Coastal local authorities
Kent County Council works closely with the 12 district councils, one unitary authority (Medway) and 307 Town and Parish Councils in Kent. Each has specific responsibilities, but in some instances they are shared and, of course, everything must work together to provide the people of Kent with the best services possible. In Kent, some services such as road repairs, may be carried out by districts on behalf of the County Council. See below for further details.
Address: Invicta House, County Hall Maidstone Kent ME14 1XX
Telephone No: 08458 247247
Web Site:
Member Activities

Kent County Council responsibilities:

  • Education
  • Social Services
  • Strategic planning
  • Roads and Highways
  • Traffic and Transportation
  • Subsidised public Transport
  • Waste disposal sites
  • Recycling
  • Libraries
  • Adult Education
  • Adult Careers Guidance
  • Trading Standards (consumer protection)
  • Registration of births, deaths and marriages
  • Street lighting
  • Pavements
  • Public rights of way
  • Countryside Access
  • Environmental management
  • Sports Development
  • KCC and minerals planning applications
  • Coroners
  • Youth Services 

Responsibilities shared between Kent County Council and District Councils:

  • Gypsy sites
  • Emergency Planning
  • Economic Development
  • Regeneration
  • Coastal protection
  • Museums
  • Art galleries
  • Tourism promotion and development
  • Town Centre Management

For further information on reponsibilities see

Copyright © 2004 Kent Coastal Network
Site Design by Strictly Media